Energy - February 7, 2014

Around Town

Sen. Richard Kasunic, D—Fayette, is the latest state legislator to announce their retirement.  Kasunic will retire with 32 years of service in the General Assembly; he was first elected to the House of Representatives in 1982 and the Senate in 1994. He serves Fayette County and parts of Somerset, Washington, and Westmoreland counties as well. Kasunic cited securing funding for the Mon-Fayette Expressway and the expansion of State Route 219 along with authoring a law on coal mine safety among his top achievements while in office.  He said he is looking forward to spending time with family and friends.

State Representative Phyllis Mundy, D—Luzerne, announced back in December that she would be retiring.  This week her former legislative assistant and West Wyoming Councilwoman, Eileen Cipriani, announced she would be seeking the nomination on the Democratic ticket in the primary for Mundy’s seat.  Cipriani graduated from Bloomsburg University and has a master’s degree in organizational management from Misericordia University.  Other Democratic candidates entering the primary race are Edwardsville Councilman Gary Mack and Wyoming Area School Baord member John Brolin. 

Below is the full list of legislators who are not seeking relection: 

  • Sen. Mike Brubaker (R-Lancaster)
  • Sen. Mike Waugh (R-York) (resigned from Senate 1/12/14)
  • Sen. Edwin Erickson (R-Delaware)
  • Rep. Jerry Stern (R-Blair)
  • Sen. Jim Ferlo (D-Allegheny)
  • Rep. Chris Ross (R-Chester)
  • Rep. Phyllis Mundy (D-Luzerne)
  • Rep. Dick Stevenson (R-Mercer)
  • Rep. Mike McGeehan (D-Philadelphia)
  • Sen. Bob Robbins (R-Mercer)
  • Rep. RoseMarie Swanger (R-Lebanon)
  • Rep. Todd Rock (R-Franklin)
  • Rep. Paul Clymer (R-Bucks)
  • Rep. Nick Micozzie (R-Delaware)
  • Sen. Richard Kasunic (D-Fayette)


Legislators seeking Senate seats:

  • Rep. Mario Scavello (R-Monroe)
  • Rep. Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster)
  • Rep. Gordon Denlinger (R-Lancaster)