Health - September 7, 2012

Consumers should be attentive to sales tax for online sales began collecting sales tax from buyers in Pennsylvania on September 1, 2012 to be in compliance with state law.  But consumers should be sure that they are being charged the correct amount of sales tax on applicable items.  Pennsylvania does not charge tax on certain necessities such as clothing or food but does charge tax on certain items that are considered to be luxuries, like bathing suits and wedding attire.  The line between necessity and luxury can be unclear and consumers should double check their purchases to ensure they are being charged correctly and save all receipts. is now collecting the 6 percent PA sales tax as well as an extra 1 and 2 percent, respectively in Allegheny and Philadelphia Counties.  Consumers that believe they’ve been overcharged or wrongly charged sales tax and have difficulty getting a refund should contact the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue’s board of appeals.


PennDOT utilizes social media to distribute information

PennDOT now has a Facebook page; which the department will be utilizing to provide information, news, and travel tips.  The page will also offer a new way for the general public to interact with and contact the agency.  “PennDOT Secretary Barry Schoch said comments, questions and concerns are welcome” on the page.  PennDOT already has a main Twitter account, as well as eight regional Twitter accounts.  A Facebook page was the next logical step in the today’s social media age.

And if you visit the newly created page, one of the stories you will see PennDOT featuring, is a notice that Act 114 of 2012 is now in effect.  The act, signed by Governor Tom Corbett on July 5, imposes penalties on drivers who ignore closed roads and safety warning signs.  With the approaching one year anniversary of some very devastating flooding to the mid-state area, the law reminds everyone that the safety of motorists and emergency responders is paramount.  Penalties for ignoring warnings are two points and a fine of up to $250.  The fine will increase if emergency assistance is needed after ignoring a warning or closure.