Energy - November 5, 2010

Recap on State Legislature Election Results

As reported by Pennsylvania Legislative Services, the following House members have lost their seats: Democrat Tom Houghton (Chester), Dave Levdansky (Allegheny), John Pallone (Westmoreland), James Casorio (Westmoreland), Todd Eachus (Luzerne), Tim Seip (Schuylkill), Dave Kessler (Berks), Rick Taylor (Montgomery), Barbara McIlvaine Smith (Chester), Paul Drucker (Chester) and John Siptroth (Monroe).Former Democratic House seats held by Bob Belfanti (Northumberland), Keith McCall (Carbon), Rich Grucela (Northampton), and Bryan Lentz (Delaware) will be held by GOP in January. A total loss of 15 seats for the Democrats.

John Perzel (Philadelphia) appears to be the only Republican to fall. Additionally, former GOP seat held by Mario Civera (Delaware) will turn over to the Democrats for a total loss of two for the GOP. The GOP will gain 13 seats in the House if the current numbers reported by the Department of State do not change. Currently five House races have a vote spread of less than 300 votes, so these numbers may change.

As for the Senate, no incumbents were defeated and the three open seats (Mellow, Stout and Musto) will remain in Democratic hands.


2011 Senate Session Schedule (House Schedule not yet decided on)

January            4, 18 (Governor/Lt. Governor Swearin-in), 19, 24, 25, 26

February          7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16, 28  

March               1, 2         

  • A proposed Session schedule beyond the first week of March is pending notices of a date for the Governor’s Budget Address.